Scrumptious Strawberry Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

by Colleen and Sara

Hello there, I’m Sara! This is my first post and I wanted it to be something different from Colleen’s recipes (even though they’re wonderful and delicious) but I realized after it was too late, that it is, indeed, a fruity cake treat like the others. Oops. It still tastes delicious.  Anywho, I stumbled upon this recipe on a food blog called Confections of a Foodie Bride. I modified it a bit and I think it turned out really well. Hope you like it! So here it goes.

Ingredients

16 oz fresh strawberries( or frozen if fresh aren’t available)

2 tsp granulated sugar

1/4 cup milk (room temperature)

6 large egg whites (room temperature)

1 tbsp vanilla extract

2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour  (sifted)

1 3/4 cup sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

12 Tbsp unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), softened (not melted)

Note: I didn’t have any unsalted butter, so I used salted butter instead and only used a 1/4 tsp of salt. It worked fine.

Directions

Slice and hull strawberries, place in bowl with 2 tsp. of sugar and mix. Let sit for an hour or two until strawberries are room temperature. Put strawberries into a food processor or blender and puree. I reserved a few  strawberries for garnish, because it looks pretty.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare two 8 inch pans: To grease pans I always use butter and flour. It’s the only foolproof method I’ve found, but I’m sure other people have different ways.

In  a small bowl mix milk, vanilla, puree and egg with whisk until well blended.In a large bowl, add sifted flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt and mix until combined. Continue beating at low-speed and add butter, mixture should resemble moist crumbs.

Add puree mixture  and beat at medium speed for about 1 minute or until full and evenly combined. Divide the batter evenly among the pans and smooth tops.

Bake for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean (time will vary). Let cakes rest in pan for about 10 minutes and turn out onto wire racks. Let cakes cool completely (about 2 hours).

Now what I did was make it a four layer cake as opposed to a two layer. I find the easiest way to cut cakes in half is to freeze them first. After the cake is cooled down, wrap them individually in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer until they are cold all of the way through. Then remove them from the freezer and the plastic wrap, take a pretty sharp knife and cut as evenly as you can.( I’m still trying to perfect it myself.)

After that you can frost it with whatever frosting you prefer, I just used a simple cream cheese one, but i think that a vanilla or strawberry buttercream would taste delicious!

Cream Cheese Frosting

2 packages of Philadelphia cream cheese

2 tsp milk

3 cups confectioner’s sugar

1 tsp of vanilla

Put all of the ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.

I actually made this recipe twice, because I ran out. I do definitely recommend doubling it if you plan on making it a four layer cake.

After you’re done with all of that I recommend grabbing a big fork and just devouring the entire thing yourself.

Author: Sara

